Wrestlemania XXX

On April 6, 2014, I got to go to Wrestlemania XXX.  I love pro wrestling, and while I’m not this guy (though I likely sat by one of his relatives), it’s one of my favorite pastimes.  So when we found out Wrestlemania XXX was happening in New Orleans, Leah and I decided to go.

I say this without any qualification:  that was one of the most fun things I have ever been to.

It’s hard to exactly define what it was.  Professional wrestling is equal parts drama, production, and, yes, sport.  And you just can’t understand how big of a deal it is until you take it all in.

The size of the event alone was ridiculous.  There were 75,000+ in the Silverdome Superdome, which…is a lot of people.  For reference, Super Bowl XLVII had 71,000.  The set was unbelievable – it was MASSIVE.  I couldn’t really get a good picture of it because of where our seats were, but it just dwarfed everything.  And any time you have 75,000 people who are there, locked in, and energetic, whatever the event is will be awesome for that reason alone.

It’s also pretty cool to see such a huge production in person.  Watching on TV, you don’t notice everything that goes into the production.  On TV you see a close up shot of the wrestlers walking to the ring.  It’s fairly simple.  But live, you see the camera crew of like 12 guys walking backwards as one unit to give you the great shot you see on TV.  Although it’s not always as cool – the Wyatt family’s entrance is awesome on TV, and it was still pretty cool in person, but it was kind of funny to see Erick Rowan dragging Bray’s rocking chair behind him.

But the thing I appreciated the most about the event was how good those guys are at telling a story.  When you go to a live event, you don’t get to hear the commentators (which actually is awesome, because WWE’s announce team sucks), and you don’t have a play by play guy in the stadium calling out what happens. So when you’re watching live, you’re depending on the guys in the ring to tell a story.  And that they did.

From a wrestling and storyline standpoint, I loved the show.  It was the payoff of a year’s worth of storylines, and for Daniel Bryan, four years worth of hard work and frustration.  From a production standpoint, I was absolutely amazed.  I have to remind myself sometimes that the WWE is a billion dollar entertainment company, but after seeing what I saw, I get it.

Overall, though, it was an amazing night.  I don’t know if I’ll ever get another chance to see a WWE event live again, but I do know that chanting “YES!  YES!  YES!” with Daniel Bryan and 75,000 other people is something I’ll never forget.

 

Thoughts? Comments? Share Please!

