Go Mississippi

This is just a post where I talk about how awesome Mississippi is.  It’s not particularly eloquent, and I don’t make any great points.  Mississippi is just awesome.

I am from Mississippi.  I was born here, I grew up here, I live here.  I may not always live here, but I’ll (hopefully) die here.

I went to college here, I met my fiance here, and I’ll get married here.

I firmly and sincerely believe this is the greatest state in the United States of America.

We get a bad rap a lot of time time, and it’s not always undeserved (though the response is often unfair), but it’s a great place.

Great music, great food, great literature, great athletes…you name it, we have it.  We’ve put it out there.

I don’t need a special occasion or reason to say it, but for all the crap we get, I’m going to take a second and brag.

This week, doctors at the University of Mississippi Medical Center cured an HIV+ child.

The biggest medical breakthrough in history could be coming from my hometown.  That’s a lot to take in.

The first heart transplant also happened here, so it’s not like major medical breakthroughs don’t happen here.

So, as a Mississippian and an alumnus of the University of Mississippi, this week I’ve been beaming with pride over this news.

Like I said, I don’t need a reason to brag on my state.  Honestly, I probably should do it a lot more.

But yeah…I love this state, and this is just one more reason why.

Go, Mississippi.

Thoughts? Comments? Share Please!

