Confessions… (pt. I)

I need to confess something.

It won’t surprise anyone, because everyone has known for a while.  I just haven’t admitted it.

I try to deny it, explain it away, or rationalize it, but I can’t anymore.

I have to be honest with people.  With myself.

I am addicted to college football recruiting.

I’m probably the worst kind of college football recruiting addict, too, because I try to act like I’m better than other types of college football recruiting addicts.  I make fun of the guys who follow recruits on Twitter* (but I know all their handles so I just periodically check their accounts).  I laugh at the people who read through recruits’ comment section on Instagram (OK – that one is too weird for me).  I think it’s ridiculous that people, grown men, would go to a college bar where the recruits are hanging out to watch them interact with the town (but in reality, I’d at least drop by if I didn’t live 3 hours away).

Yep.  That’s me.  I try to act like I’m above it all, but I’m really not.

National Signing Day was this past Wednesday.  All day long, high school football players announced where they would be playing their college ball, and despite my best efforts, I watched the entire thing.  I was up at 6:30 in the morning to watch ESPNU as Robert Nkemdiche, the #1 player in the nation, and finally turned it off sometime after lunch when most of the good stuff was over and I had important stuff to do anyway.

Every year, after signing day, I tell myself “I’m done.”  My team never gets the guys we hoped we would get, and the other guys get all the big names.  But the crazy thing about this year is that we got the big names!  It was very exciting.

But, in all honesty, it’s probably the worst thing that could have happened to me.  I legitimately was burned out on it.  I had quit paying attention for a while.  But then, this year, just about everything went the way I had hoped.  It’s like when you’re sitting at a blackjack table, and you’ve had an awful run of luck, and then you win a hand and BOOM you’re hooked again.  Not winning, just hooked.

So I am writing this post to go ahead and confess it – I’m a recruiting junkie, and that’s probably not going to change any time soon.  I’m going to continue to read the message boards and continue to “not care” what recruits put on Twitter.  Next year, on the first Wednesday of February, I’ll wake up at 6 am and do it all over again.

My name is Chandler, and I am addicted to college football recruiting.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I have some rising seniors names to learn.

*Anyone, and I mean anyone, who is not in college who tweets at a high school football player is pathetic.

Thoughts? Comments? Share Please!

