The New Year

Well, we made it to 2012. Awesome. And seeing as we have just over 11 months left to live (thanks, Mayans), I thought I’d spend some of the precious little time we have left to live writing a blog! Yeah!

But one thing I always like/try to do as the years turn over is take a look back at the year that passed and look to the year ahead. Just to kind of keep things in perspective. I saw a lot of people complaining about 2011. I initially agreed. I mean, what a crappy year, right? I had like 4 months of ACL rehab, major panic attacks induced by the Greek language, major panic attacks induced by Ancient Hebrew, major panic attacks induced by a computer crash at the second worst possible time I could have had a computer crash, a 2-10 football season (thanks, coach Nutt!), and the Electric Cowboy closed like a week before we were supposed to go to midget wrestling. Not to mention TWO failed Doomsday predictions by a man who appeared to have the biggest ears ever. I mean, those are the markings of a horrible year, right?

After thinking about all of this (plus a bunch of other stuff…like…serious stuff. Remember the tornados? Stuff like that?) I was ready to be all like “MAN 2011 WAS THE WORST YEAR EVER!!!” And there were some legitimate reasons to think 2011 sucked.

Then I started to think it might not have been so bad. I saw a ton of concerts that I really wanted to see – Old Crow twice, the Civil Wars, the Avett Brothers, Mat Kearney, Jimmy Eat World, and several others I’m totally blanking on. I dominated the dance floor at 4 awesome dance parties (yes – I DOMINATED THE DANCE FLOOR). I joined a sweet book club and read books. I found out I have a weird twin (and that weird twin has a great blog – THE GBOAT ) so give it a read. I joined a great new church and got involved in a men’s ministry. Friendships I’ve had for years have strengthened incredibly and new ones have been born. I survived another year at RTS. Oh, and I got a job doing something I love!

And looking back, I realized I grew closer to Christ through it all. And I feel like the bottom line on whether a year was “good” or “bad” is just that. I mean, sure, 2011 was full of mistakes and had some pretty rough moments. But it’s really hard to focus on those when I look at the great stuff that happened. I can’t see myself as anything other than ridiculously, undeservingly blessed. So, 2011 was awesome.

But on to 2012. I don’t like doing much in the way of resolutions, because I never keep them, but I hope I can accomplish a few things. I’d love to get back down to playing weight (whatever that actually means) and I’d love to seriously up my Scripture memorization. We’ll see what happens.

I’ll turn 27 this year. That’s crazy for me to think about. But I’m looking forward to 2012 and what it holds. Because it is the end of the world and all.

Thoughts? Comments? Share Please!

